Food/exercise tracking

Writing things down helps keep me aware. By making a daily/weekly to-do list at work, I’m always aware of the things that I still have to do, and what I have accomplished. By writing a budget and keeping track of my finances, I’m aware of how much money I am spending and where it is going. So it only made sense to have this habit in regards to my health.

I just created a free account on My Fitness Pal. They have a huge food library, and I can track what I eat for breakfast, lunch, dinner and snacks, and how many calories I am consuming (as well as protein, fiber, sodium, sugar, or anything else you’d like to know). I can set goals for calorie intake, for weight, for exercise and track how many calories I burn in a day or a week. Friends can join as well, so that can help keep me accountable. I can keep all my recipes on there too, and there’s a recipe calculator to track how many calories are in those!

It’s pretty great. I’m not necessarily going on a diet (although I do intend on eating a lot more veggies and lean proteins), or at least not what I would call a diet.  I just want to be more aware of the junk going into my body, and how lazy I am,  🙂

Anyone care to join me?

p.s. Lovely how I posted this immediately after posting the recipe for lemon monkey bread…well at least now I can be aware of how fattening monkey bread is.

One thought on “Food/exercise tracking

  1. wartica says:

    I totally agree: if you focus too much on the diet, and becoming extremely thin, then you will never enjoy the small pleasures – every once in a while.Great post and I look forward to sharing more with you:))

Leave a Reply

