What I do (work)

Everybody always asks me what I do for a living. I always feel like that’s a loaded question because I don’t really have a set of tasks or a solid job description. So this will be my best attempt to answer.

First, some background on the company. I work for a company called The 401k Coach Program (I won’t link to anything here because last time I linked to our website, I had to explain to my boss why my personal blog was showing up as a major source of traffic to our site on Google Analytics and he wanted to read it…I’d rather not have that happen again).  According to our website, “The 401k Coach® Program offers expert training to develop the skills, systems and processes necessary to excel in the 401(k) industry. Members and graduates of our programs return to their practice with actionable ideas to grow their business and efficiently manage the responsibilities of being an entrepreneur in this ever-changing industry”

Basically, we train other 401(k) advisors all around the country on how to effectively build their business. We’ve created a curriculum with materials,  including binders, books, cds and marketable products for purchase. A big part of my job is the creation, fine-tuning and production of these things. My boss provides the content and copy, and I figure out a way to make it aesthetic and streamlined.

Here’s an example of some of the materials:

Binder, marketing CD, Wealthcare manual

The only graphic design that I really get to do are the binder covers and CD labels. The rest of it is mostly production work.

Another large part of my job is the travel aspect. We put on classroom-style courses for advisors around the country. I’m in charge of tech – the powerpoint, sound, lighting, etc., as well as interacting with the advisors and trying to sell our products or other programs.

While traveling around the country sounds really fun and exciting (I thought so too, at first!), there is really almost no downtime while on the road. Our sessions tend to be on Thursdays, 8am-5pm, so we fly in on Wednesday, get lunch, meet with our hotel contact, set up the room for the next day, get dinner, and go to bed early in order to be in the room by 6am (this means waking up by 5am or earlier). Then we’re in session all day, and tear down from 5-6:30, grab dinner if there is time and fly back to Hartford that night. It’s actually really exhausting.

Most recently, my boss made me the project manager for Paychecks for Life, his new book. We just went live with a new website, released the book, and started to really market it. I am the main contact for the publisher, the publicists, web developers, fulfillment company, etc etc etc, as well as any potential customers or clients. I track all of the book sales from all sources, work with the publicist to schedule interviews for my boss, and I’ve created a weekly email marketing campaign with articles and excerpts from the book.

These are just the highlights of what I do – there are a thousand other day-to-day tasks.  I need three calendars and daily to-do lists to keep track of everything.  My desk is a mess and my head hurts on a daily basis, and even though I’m often stressed and anxious and work late without getting paid overtime (salary, yuck), I still try to remember that God is good and provided this job for me, and at least for right now, it’s where I am supposed to be.

Leave a Reply

